A New Week

So it’s the beginning of a new week, and I’m back in my non-home location for the first part of the week.  Just so you guys know, in case my updating goes screwy, I’m splitting my weeks between home and the city my step-mother lives in a couple hours away so I can help take care of her affairs while she’s in long term physical rehab.  On the upside, it does give me plenty of time for crafts, video games and reading, and another JoAnn’s and Michaels to go to lol.  Actually, I say that, the yarn selection in the stores up here absolutely SUCKS! Seriously, both stores have about 1 1/2 aisles dedicated to yarn and yarn tools and patterns.  I’ve been in Wal-Marts with better selection.  Regardless, I still managed to buy something at Michaels today, ’cause, you know, I need more patterns and yarn lol.  I actually looked at these last week when I was there and got a book for making covers for dish washing liquid bottles that look like dresses that’s all knit (I’m going to be experimenting with knit again apparently lol) and uses crochet cotton, like the Lily’s Sugar ‘n Cream; the other is a variegated yarn that’s store brand that you can apparently make a baby’s top out of using just one skein (or 2 skeins if you make a little larger size).  I’m big on one skein projects as they let me try out different yarns without having to spend a ton of money on enough for things like blankets or afghans.  Of course, I’m always looking for non-scarf projects because, let’s get real, I live in central Florida and there’s less than one month a year that gets cold enough to need one.  Then again, I do have an Etsy shop that a lot of my finished pieces will probably wind up on eventually.  If I do put them on there, I’ll let you guys know in case any of you are feeling generous and want to buy something lol.

So, this weekend I worked on the hubby’s afghan some more as well as the one-skein baby blanket and the dish cloth (yeah, I’m only doing a couple rows at a time with that one, it’s why it’s not finished yet).  I’m going to have to get my butt in gear and finish the blanket for my friends since I’m headed up to visit my mom and grandmother this weekend and I’ll be stopping by to see them as well (oh yeah, probably no updates this weekend either).  Also, been playing around with the site, seeing what works and doesn’t for me.  Wish I could set up a separate page on this site that allows posts for my reviews but won’t let me, I don’t think, so they’ll be getting scattered in with the regular posts.

For sales…well Michaels didn’t have anything yarn related on sale in store or online unfortunately, but if you go to their webpage, you can get a 40% off coupon for one regular price item. JoAnn’s is having daily coupon offers through the end of the week for Mother’s Day, so make sure you check those out, plus all their Lion Brand yarns are 25% off as well as a couple other brand types that are on sale.

Leave a comment