Busy Day, Lazy Day

So, Sunday was actually a really productive day.  I completed the bag that was from the sewing pattern, which is a folding market tote, and I am never never making it again LOL. To be fair, there’s probably nothing wrong with the pattern, I just suck at understanding them, as I mentioned before.  The bag itself wasn’t really that difficult, the most complicated part of the body of the bag was attaching the bias tape around the handles, but the pocket panel gave me so many issues.  Once again, I think it was because I just didn’t understand what the pattern was telling me to do.  I’m also not thrilled with trying to sew around curves, it gives me a lot of issues but that may just be a lack of practice.  I might take a stab at a similar type of bag at some point but after making a couple changes to make it more… logical? accessible? understandable? to me.

I also finished another tote bag, this one from a tutorial and pattern given by Shabby Fabrics.  My husband kind of laughed at me for my fabric choices on this one, but I think it worked out really well.  Well, it’s almost finished.  The tote itself is kind of plain looking and they used a fabric flower pin to dress it up, which I would have no problem doing but I can’t find regular pin backs at my Joann’s.  I’m going to try Wal-Mart or Michaels next time I’m in that part of town, otherwise I’ll have to find them online.  Or I’ll have to come up with some other decoration to add. Of course I could just leave the two I made plain, but I don’t really like that idea.  This is another bag that is fat quarter friendly, requiring only three and some fusible fleece and then you can quilt them, or not, to make them more decorative.  I’m slowly working on my quilting so right now I’m pretty much only doing diagonal lines, not even checkers, but it does make it look a little more interesting.  Oh, and they’re basically reversible, the lining isn’t fused to anything so it’s not as sturdy as the outer bag, but I don’t think it would make much of a difference.

And then, because I could use the same thread and bobbin as the one from the tote bag, I made a triangular zipper bag that is so easy I can actually do them from memory after having made the first two (I think I have 5 now I’ve made).  The tutorial I watched is from The Crafty Gemini but I have seen a couple other tutorials showing the same thing.  The process is actually really easy, the hardest part for me is just adjusting to sewing around the zipper and using the zipper foot on my machine.  Nylon zippers are a must as you can cut them to size with no issues and they come in so many neat colors and I got to use two of the new ones I got from ZipIt.

Other than that, I got the pieces to another tote I’m working on ironed on to their fusible fleece and actually got my Etsy page up and running again.  Right now there’s only some jewelry components on there, but as soon as I get some good pictures of my bags, I’ll start adding them.

Yesterday was kind of a lazy day, I didn’t sleep well and it left me feeling off all day. I went to Joann’s to take advantage of the 60% off scissors and 50% off regular item coupons you can find through their coupon link on the website and picked up some more fabric to make some small zipper bags (since it takes all of 1/3 yard of two fabrics and some fusibles to make around 4 bags).  And all of their character fabrics are on sale for 30% off, and a few are 60% off.

For actual projects, I did manage to complete a Flying Geese Log Cabin block that was presented by the Missouri Quilt Company using some batik jelly roll strips I’ve been sitting on for a while.  I’ve just got to make three more blocks to have a full image and then figure out whether I want to use it as the front of a bag or maybe make it into a pillow for something different.  Oh, and as a bonus, by saving the cut off triangles from snowballing the corners of the blocks, I’ll be able to make some tiny little blocks to make something else with.

20170627_105732[1]
Flying Geese Log Cabin
Products and Tutorials Used/Mentioned:

 

Leave a Reply

